Select Page

Immunization Requirements

Information from the Arizona Immunization Program Office, Arizona Dept. of Health Services, Copyright 2003, AZ Department of Health Services

  • Students must have proof of all required immunizations, or a valid exemption, in order to attend school. Arizona law allows exemptions for medical reasons, lab evidence of immunity, and personal beliefs. Exemption forms are available from schools and at http://www.azdhs.gov/phs/immun/back2school.htm.
  • Homeless students are allowed a 5-day grace period to submit proof of immunization records.
  • The immunization record for each vaccine dose must include the complete date and the doctor or clinic name.
  • The statutes and rules governing school immunization requirements are: Arizona Revised Statutes §15-871-874; and Arizona Administrative Code, R9-6-701–708.

Please check requirements, below, for each child’s age and grade level.

AGE: Under age 7 | GRADES: Kindergarten/1st/2nd

DTaP (Proof of DTP or DT counts toward DTaP requirement)

4-5* doses
At least 1 dose at 4 years of age or older is required.
*A 6th dose is required if 5 doses have been given before 4 years of age.

Polio

3-4 doses
4 doses meet the requirement. 3 doses meet requirements if dose #3 was given at 4+ years of age.
(Not required for students 18+ years of age.)

MMR

2 doses
A 3rd dose will be required if dose #1 was given before more than 4 days before the 1st birthday.

Hepatitis B

3 doses
A 4th dose will be required if the third dose was given before 24 weeks of age.

Varicella

1 dose is required if the 1st dose was given before 13 years of age.
2 doses are required if the 1st dose was given at 13 years of age or later.
Students attending school or preschool in Arizona prior to 9/1/2011 with parental recall of chickenpox disease are allowed to continue attendance with parental recall of disease. Students enrolling for the first time after 09/01/2011 are required to present proof of varicella immunization or a valid exemption for medical reasons, laboratory evidence of immunity or personal beliefs. Parental recall of disease will not be accepted.

AGE: 7-10 years | GRADES: 2nd through 5th grade

DTaP (Proof of DTP or DT counts toward DTaP requirement) | Td | Tdap

3 DTaP and/or Td doses are required if all doses were given after 12 months of age.
Or
4 DTaP and/or Td doses are required if any of the doses were received before 12 months of age.
Tdap may be counted to meet the requirements above. Tdap is not required for 11 year olds until they enter 6th grade.

Meningococcal

Not required but may be counted as valid when given at this age.

Polio

3-4 doses
4 doses meet the requirement. 3 doses meet requirements if dose #3 was given at 4+ years of age.
(Not required for students 18+ years of age.)

MMR

2 doses
A 3rd dose will be required if dose #1 was given before more than 4 days before the 1st birthday.

Hepatitis B

3 doses
A 4th dose will be required if the third dose was given before 24 weeks of age.

Varicella

1 dose is required if the 1st dose was given before 13 years of age.
2 doses are required if the 1st dose was given at 13 years of age or later.
Students attending school or preschool in Arizona prior to 9/1/2011 with parental recall of chickenpox disease are allowed to continue attendance with parental recall of disease. Students enrolling for the first time after 09/01/2011 are required to present proof of varicella immunization or a valid exemption for medical reasons, laboratory evidence of immunity or personal beliefs. Parental recall of disease will not be accepted.

AGE: 11 years and older | GRADES: 6th through 12th grade

DTaP (Proof of DTP or DT counts toward DTaP requirement) | Td | Tdap

1 Tdap dose is required for students 11 years and older.

Students who completed the primary series of tetanus/diphtheria doses must receive a Tdap when 5 years have passed since the student’s last tetanus/diphtheria dose.

Students who did not complete the primary series of tetanus/diphtheria doses before age 11 are required to receive a total of 3 doses, including 1 Tdap and 2 Td doses. Tdap doses given prior to age 11 meet the requirement.

A Td booster is required 10 years after the Tdap dose.

Meningococcal

1 dose is required.

Polio

3-4 doses
4 doses meet the requirement. 3 doses meet requirements if dose #3 was given at 4+ years of age.
(Not required for students 18+ years of age.)

MMR

2 doses
A 3rd dose will be required if dose #1 was given before more than 4 days before the 1st birthday.

Hepatitis B

3 doses
A 4th dose will be required if the third dose was given before 24 weeks of age.

Varicella

1 dose is required if the 1st dose was given before 13 years of age.
2 doses are required if the 1st dose was given at 13 years of age or later.
Students attending school or preschool in Arizona prior to 9/1/2011 with parental recall of chickenpox disease are allowed to continue attendance with parental recall of disease. Students enrolling for the first time after 09/01/2011 are required to present proof of varicella immunization or a valid exemption for medical reasons, laboratory evidence of immunity or personal beliefs. Parental recall of disease will not be accepted.

Note: ADHS observes a 4-day grace period for vaccine ages and intervals, except for the space between two live vaccines such as Varicella and MMR, which must be given at least 28 days apart if they are not administered on the same day.

Arizona Immunization Program Office • 150 North 18th Avenue, Suite 120 • Phoenix, AZ 85007 • (602) 364-3630

Revised July 2017

Children eligible for the federal Vaccines for Children (VFC) program can receive free vaccine from their VFC enrolled providers. Private providers may charge an administration fee. Immunizations are available at no cost at all County Health Departments. At the Yavapai County Health Dept., a small fee will be requested, but may be waived if you are unable to pay.

Yavapai County Health Department
1090 Commerce Dr. | Prescott, AZ 86305
928-771-3122

Follow

Pin It on Pinterest